₹10L each for 13 GPs winning Lokmat Sarpanch Award

Media Coverage | 15-03-2024

Minister Sanjay Rathod’s announcement after demand by Dr Darda

Lokmat News Network


The Sarpanch Award ceremony, initiated by Lokmat Media, aims to recognise and motivate sarpanchs and gram sevaks who are actively involved in developmental projects in rural areas.

Minister for soil and water conservation and guardian minister of Yavatmal district Sanjay Rathod said Lokmat Media’s  initiative is a significant step towards rural development.

He said the 13 gram panchayat award winners in Yavatmal district will receive  `10 lakh each from district planning commission (DPC) to support their initiatives.

The Lokmat Sarpanch Award – 2024 ceremony was held at Darda Matoshree Auditorium in Yavatmal on Thursday.

Chairman of editorial board of Lokmat Media Group and former member of Rajya Sabha Dr Vijay Darda presided over the function. Yavatmal ZP CEO Mandar Patki was among the prominent persons present on the occasion.

In his address, Dr Darda, elaborating on the significant role played by Lokmat Media in Sarpanch Award initiative, said, “ Founder editor of Lokmat and veteran freedom fighter Jawaharlal Darda alias ‘Babuji’ started Lokmat for a noble cause. He provided a new vision and guidance for development of rural areas in Maharashtra while he was the industries and power minister of the State. The Lokmat Media continues to follow the same path as set by ‘Babuji’. The award ceremony is being held across the State to acknowledge the hard work of sarpanchs who are dedicated to development of both rural and urban areas, and encourage new leadership from these regions. All 13 gram panchayats honoured on Thursday have made significant contributions to their respective villages in water management, education, sanitation, health, and environmental conservation.”

Dr Darda also urged Rathod to encourage and empower these sarpanchs for further development of their villages. Responding to Dr Darda’s wish, Rathod announced that all the 13 gram panchayats receiving the Lokmat Sarpanch Award in Yavatmal district will be provided `10 lakh each to implement innovative projects through DPC.

Lokmat Media has always been supporting those works diligently at all levels, Rathod added.

Rathod also said that Lokmat Media is not just a newspaper but a movement dedicated to uplift the common people of the society.

Pataki commends Lokmat

for its initiative

Yavatmal ZP CEO Mandar Patki also commended Lokmat Media for its initiative. “The sarpanch plays a crucial role in the progress of a village. The transformation in economic and political aspects often initiates from the grass-roots level. It is essential for gram panchayats to prioritise setting up of necessary infrastructure using resources allocated by the 15th Finance Commission,” Patki stressed. At the outset, head of the Yavatmal district bureau chief of Lokmat Media Kishore Darda,  made introductory remarks. Former vice president of ZP Balasaheb Mangulkar, BKT area manager Juber Shaikh, sales executive Amay Deshpande, Vidarbha distributor Deepak Bankoti, regional sales head of MP Birla Cement Pankaj Singh, technical head of Maharashtra and Telangana Sharad Vyas, representative of Society Tea Appa Patil, sales officer of G2 Vajahat Khan, general manager of Lokmat Media, Sushant Dandge and edition head Gajanan Chopde were also present. Ajay Kolarkar conducted the proceedings while Yavatmal district representative Vishal Sontakke proposed a vote of thanks.

Lokmat Sarpanch Award distribution ceremony was held in Yavatmal on Thursday. (From left) Maharashtra minister for soil and water conservation Sanjay Rathod, sarpanch of Tadoli village in Arni tehsil Sapna Ravishankar Rathod, (who was awarded the Sarpanch of The Year Award), chairman of editorial board of Lokmat Media Group and former Rajya Sabha member Dr Vijay Darda, zilla parishad CEO Mandar Patki and Lokmat Yavatmal district bureau chief Kishore Darda at the award function.

View Image