Close this search box.

Ex-Prez Kovind to be chief guest at 4th edition of Lokmat Parliamentary Awards

 Media Coverage  |  26-01-2023

Event to be held in New Delhi on March 14

Kharge, Mahtab, Owaisi, O’Brien, Vandana Chavan, Tejasvi Surya, Locket Chatterjee and Manoj Kumar Jha among award winners

The former President of India Ram Nath Kovind will be the chief guest for the 4th edition of Lokmat Parliamentary Awards ceremony scheduled to be held in New Delhi on March 14, 2023.

The chairman of editorial board of Lokmat Media and former member of Rajya Sabha Vijay Darda called on Ram Nath Kovind and invited him to be the chief guest of the prestigious awards ceremony. The former President has accepted the request to grace the occasion as the chief guest. The Lokmat National Conclave

on the topic, “Indian Democracy: How Close to Maturity” will also be held on the same day at the same venue. Dignitaries from different political parties will express their views on this crucial subject at the national conclave.

Congress president and the leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge, Biju Janata Dal MP Bhartruhari Mahtab, Trinamool Congress’ Derek O’Brien, NCP’s Vandana Chavan, BJP MPs Tejaswi Surya and Locket Chatterjee, AIMIM’s Asaduddin Owaisi and Rashtriya Janata Dal MP Prof Manoj Kumar Jha were unanimously selected as the winners of the fourth edition (2022) of Lokmat Parliamentary Awards.

The awardees were selected by a distinguished jury headed by NCP president Sharad Pawar during a meeting held here recently. The other jury members were Vijay Darda, former Union minister Suresh Prabhu, RSP MP N K Premachandran, former Rajya Sabha general secretary Yogendra Narayan, founder and editor-in-chief of The Print Shekhar Gupta, news director of TV9 Bharatvarsh Hemant Sharma and national editor of Lokmat Media Group Harish Gupta.

The other jury members, former Union minister Ghulam Nabi Azad, TMC MP Saugata Roy and former chief election commissioner S Y Qureshi, could not attend the meeting due to other engagements, while another member of the jury, Bhartruhari Mahtab, recused himself from the selection process as he was also a nominee.

The jury examined the parliamentary contributions of all MPs for the years 2020 and 2021 to select the winners. Lokmat Parliamentary Awards were instituted in 2017 to recognise and encourage the constructive work MPs do throughout the year. In 2017, 2018 and 2019, the best members of Parliament were honoured at the hands of Vice-President M Venkaiah Naidu. The awards remained suspended for the last two years due to Covid-19 pandemic.

Mallikarjun Kharge and Mahtab were nominated in the Lifetime Achievement Award category from the Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha respectively. Derek O’Brien (Rajya Sabha) and Asaduddin Owaisi (Lok Sabha) were named Parliamentarians of the Year. Vandana Chavan (Rajya Sabha) and Locket Chatterjee (Lok Sabha) were adjudged Best Women Parliamentarians. Prof Manoj Kumar Jha (Rajya Sabha) and Tejaswi Surya (Lok Sabha) were selected as the Best Newcomer Parliamentarians.

Former Prime Minister Dr Manmohan Singh, Lal Krishna Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi, Sharad Pawar, Mulayam Singh Yadav, Sharad Yadav, Sitaram Yechury, Jaya Bachchan, Supriya Sule, Nishikant Dubey, Hema Malini, Bharati Pawar, Sushmita Dev, Meenakshi Lekhi and Dr Rajni Patil have been the recipients of this prestigious award in the previous editions.

Awards given in 8 categories

The prestigious awards are given annually to the best members of Parliament in eight different categories (four each from Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha) for their outstanding contribution to parliamentary democracy.

View Image

Relevant Articles

AK Antony, Owaisi, O’Brien, Vandana Chavan among 8 to get Lokmat Parliamentary Awards

Kovind will not become a rubber stamp President

Why not one election when nation is one?

Temple of democracy in grave danger..!

The Rajya Sabha poll bazaar(Opens in a new browser tab)

Significant events become rituals, core messages forgotten!