There’s more politics in sports: Dr Darda

 Media Coverage  |  08-05-2023

‘You should accept the post of an office-bearer of any sports organisation, only if you are in a position to work for the development of the concerned sport’, said chairman of Editorial Board of Lokmat Media Group and former member of Rajya Sabha, Dr Vijay Darda here.

He was speaking during the annual general meeting of the Maharashtra Tennikoit Association on Sunday at Scout Ground here.

Dr Vijay Darda on the occasion further said today there is more politics in sports than there is politics on political  field- which hits hard sports and sporting activities.

Hence, efforts must be made for the development of sports and sports persons, Dr Vijay Darda further said.

Dr Darda told the members of the association that he has been connected with sports for a long time. ‘I myself am a sports person and while studying in Bombay University, I  participated at national and international levels in table tennis and also organised various sporting events like badminton, table tennis, kabaddi and wrestling’, he quipped.

The sports organisations are meant for the complete development of sportspersons and the every medal won by a sportsperson inspires countrymen. Hence the total development of the players must be the objective, he stated adding ‘the sportspersons must get justice and there should not be any kind of discrimination between them’. Sports should only be the religion of every  sportsperson, he advised.

Similarly, a sportsperson must get an opportunity to show his acumen if he or she is worthy of it, he added.

Anil Warpe spoke about the progress and current status of Maharashtra Tennikoit Association. The new team of office-bearers was also announced by Dr Vijay Darda.


The new team:

Mohan Joshi (Pune, president), Dr Vijay Darda (Nagpur, working president), Virendra Talreja (Yavatmal, vice-president), Chakradhar Dalvi, (Chhatrapati Sambhaji Nagar, vice-president) , Dr Abhijeet Wanire (Kolhapur, vice-president), Anil Warpe (Pune, secretary), Adv Mrunal Bandebuche (Bhandara, treasurer), Sanjay Holkar (Nashik, joint secretary), Sharadchandra Wable (Mumbai, joint secretary),

Technical Committee: Ashok Thokal (Akola, president), Krishna Thakre (Nagpur, convenor).

Referee Board: Adv Mrunal Bandebuche (Bhandara, president), Dr Abhijeet Deshmukh (Chhatrapati Sambhaji Nagar, convenor).

Coaching Committee: Dr Mayur Thakre (Nandurbar, president), Amod Bhide (Sangli, convenor).


Chairman of Editorial Board of Lokmat Media Group and former member of Rajya Sabha Dr Vijay Darda was felicitated during the annual general meeting of Maharashtra Tennikoit Association on Sunday at Scout Ground in Pune. (From L) Sanjay Holkar, Adv Mrunal Bandebuche, Anil Warpe and Sanjay Jagtap are also seen.

View Image

Relevant Articles

‘Jai Ho’ marks grand opening of Khasdar Sanskrutik Mahotsav

Football-like kick in world politics!

Playing with honour of sportswomen!

State disapproves of vicious politics of dogma