Close this search box.

Blend of Indian & Western music charms Nagpur

Media Coverage | 25-03-2022

Shalmali Sukthankar, Mehtab Ali Niazi honoured with Lokmat Sur Jyotsna National Music Awards

The ninth Lokmat Sur Jyotsna National Music Awards-22 were presented in a glittering ceremony to talented singer Shalmali Sukthankar and young sitar player Mehtab Ali Niazi at Kavivarya Suresh Bhat Auditorium here on Wednesday.

The event was accompanied with a stirring musical performance by both the artistes as also by Lydian Nadhaswaram, the winner of the eighth edition of Awards. Noted Indian classical vocalist Kaushiki Chakraborty and her troupe presented a mesmerising fusion music.

The presentation ceremony took place in presence of former Union aviation minister Praful Patel, leader of Opposition in State Assembly Devendra Fadnavis. Founder editor of The Wire Siddharth Varadarajan, Axis Bank vice president Amruta Fadnavis, chairman of Editorial Board of Lokmat Media group and former member of Rajya Sabha Vijay Darda, Editor-in-Chief Rajendra Darda, former Union minister Hansraj Ahir, former minister and MLC Chandrashekhar Bawankule, Bright Outdoor Media CMD Yogesh Lakhani, former Jalgaon mayor Rameshdada Jain, Sur Jyotsna Music Award jury members renowned singer Roop Kumar Rathod, Pandit Shashi Vyas, Gauri Yadwadkar of Times Music, Lokmat Sakhi Manch president Ashoo Darda and Lokmat Media group Managing Director Devendra Darda were prominently present on the dais.

The stage at the Kavivarya Suresh Bhat auditorium, where the award distribution function was held, was lit with colours as the eminent artistes from across India gave a vibrant performance.

Over the past eight years, this platform has been instrumental in inspiring many talented artistes for their future endeavours in the field of music. The Lokmat Sur Jyotsna National Music Awards is a platform through which many new musicians are introduced to the country and it also contributes to its expansion in the field of music.

Eminent personalities from various fields were present on the occasion. They were welcomed by executive director and editorial director of Lokmat Media group Karan Darda, director (operations) Ashok Jain, group editor Vijay Baviskar, editor of Lokmat Times N K Nayak, former editor of Lokmat (Nagpur edition) Dilip Tikhile and executive editor Shrimant Mane.

Sur Jyotsna National Music Awards is one of the most prestigious awards: Devendra Fadnavis

Addressing the programme, Devendra Fadnavis said that Jyotsna Darda was devoted to music and she promoted it throughout her life. Sakhi Manch has done an excellent work of empowering women. Lokmat has taken initiative in honouring Indian artistes and acknowledging their talent and skill. The earlier winners have made a name for themselves nationally. Sur Jyotsna National Music Awards is one of the most prestigious awards of the country, he added.

Lokmat selects talented artistes from all over India: Praful Patel

Praful Patel said he always attended the presentation ceremony of the Sur Jyotsna National Music Awards as it has been an excellent and memorable occasion. Lokmat selects talented artistes from all over India and gives due recognition to them. These awards help the artistes in building a career. Patel said these awards are not only the talk of Nagpur city but of the entire country.

One who practises music gets connected to life: Vijay Darda

Chairman of Editorial Board of Lokmat Media Vijay Darda said that music is a sadhana and the person who practises it gets connected to life and humanity. The contribution of the legendary singer Lata Mangeshkar is immortal. Her death has created a void in the music world. Darda praised Lata Mangeshkar’s brother Hridaynath Mangeshkar, who was a jury member, for his contribution and support in finding out talented singers for this award. He said Jyotsna Darda loved music. She had practised it since her childhood. The awards are an effort to fill the void created by her demise, he added.

Fusion by Kaushiki Chakraborty & team

Vibrant Kaushiki Chakraborty and her team S. Akash (flute), Darshan Joshi (drums), Murad Ali (Sarangi), Atul Raninga (keyboard), Sheldon DeSilva (bass guitar) and Ojas Adhiya (tabla),  took to the stage by storm, and the jampacked hall reverberated with ‘Waah! Kya baat!’ Kaushiki Chakraborty started with a Jog tarana, with words ‘Badara na aaye’, followed by a wonderful composition, a thumri, ‘Akhiyaan neend khole’, written by Swanand Kirkire and composed by Shantanu Moitra. She then went on to sing a composition of Deepak Pandit in Madhuvanti. A beatific composition by Atul Raninga made way for all the instrumentalists in the troupe, ensuring that they created rhythmic foot-tapping beats. Another captivating song was a carnatic composition of Dr M Balakrishnan, a Thillana which was followed by a soulful ghazal.

Lydian Nadhaswaram mesmerises audience

Music prodigy Lydian Nadhaswaram took to stage playing Sur Jyotsna anthem on piano, a tribute to legendary late singer Lata Mangeshkar, a mesmerising piece using the loop machine and an energetic solo piece on drums.

Shalmali sings

This year’s Sur Jyotsna award winner Shalmali Sukthankar came on the stage and mesmerised the audience with a brilliant performance. The audience went on to say, ‘once more, once more’.

Mehtab strikes sitar

When Mehtab Ali Niazi took to the stage with his Sitar accompanied by Ojas Adhiya (tabla) it was a calm and composed atmosphere with Mishra Khamaj playing on the instruments. Music lovers were seen nodding along.


View Image



Relevant Articles

Music lovers immerse themselves in the rain of rhythm and beats

‘Sur Jyotsna’ National Music Awards announced

Sur Jyotsna National Music Awards ceremony in Mumbai tomorrow

Prathamesh Laghate, Hargun Kaur honoured with Lokmat Sur Jyotsna National Music Awards

An exquisite musical treat of ‘Saptasur’